History Made: Australia’s Women’s Cricket Team Clinch 6th ICC T20 World Cup 2023 Title with 19-Run Win over South Africa; Ashleigh Gardner named Player of the Tournament

Australia's Women's Cricket Team Clinch 6th ICC T20 World Cup 2023

Last Updated on February 28, 2023 by theviralsportsindia

ICC T20 World Cup 2023 Final: Australia won the ICC T20 World Cup 2023 by defeating South Africa in the finals. Australia made her hat trick in the T20 world cup winning titles and overall they won 6 titles in the T20 world cup, which is the highest of all teams.

Australian Women’s team proved themselves as a world leader in cricket by winning multiple ICC titles and they show an amazing performance in T20 Cricket.

In this post, We will try to understand how Australia won the 6th title of the ICC T20 World Cup and what makes the Australian team special from all the other women’s cricket teams.

Australia (W) vs South Africa (W), ICC T20 World Cup 2023 Final Highlights

The final of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 was played at Newlands Cricket Ground in Cape Town on Sunday. Australia scored 156 after losing 6 wickets, Beth Mooney played the innings of 74 runs and Aura Wolvaardt scored 61 runs.

For chasing the target of 157 runs, South Africa reached only 137 by losing 6 wickets in 20 overs. Australian bowling lineup Ashleigh Gardner, Megan Schutt, Darcie Brown, and Jess Jonasse made it difficult for African batters to win the World Cup.

A Look Back at Australia’s Dominant Victories in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

Australia’s previous wins came in 2010, 2012, 2014, 2018, and 2020 and in all T20 world cups, Australian dominance remains constant in the T20 World Cup.

YearWinner2nd Position
2010Australia WomenNew Zealand Women
2012Australia WomenEngland Women
2014Australia WomenEngland Women
2016West Indies WomenAustralia Women
2018Australia WomenEngland Women
2020Australia WomenIndia Women
2023 Australia Women South Africa Women
Australia beat South Africa to win the sixth Women’s T20 World Cup

Ashleigh Gardner | Player of the Tournament | ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

Ashleigh Gardner the star all-rounder of the Australian team and one of the most expensive players of WPL 2023 becomes the player of the tournament took the ten wickets and scored 110 runs in the Women’s T20 World Cup 2023.

“We have been longing for this moment,”

“Personal accolades are great but I am proud of this win. Words cannot describe how proud I am of the group. We talk about evolving as individuals and growing the game globally. There is so much fun in playing cricket for your country.

“This is something I am going to be proud of later in life.”

Ashleigh Gardner said after being named the Player of the Tournament.  ICC T20 World Cup 2023 Final

Meg Lanning becomes the first captain in men’s and women’s cricket to win five ICC trophies, after winning the world cup she said,

“It’s pretty special from the group. All teams came hard at us but super proud. We felt like it was a good score but we have to bowl well. It was not as good as the semi-final. We had to put pressure on South Africa. It was about enjoying the process and do what we were doing. It was about keeping things simple when the pressure is on.”

Ashleigh Gardner said after winning the world cup fifth time. ICC T20 World Cup 2023 Final

Australian Women’s Cricket team creates history after winning the Women’s T20 World Cup 2023

Australian women’s team created history after winning the t20 world cup for the sixth time, No team even in men’s cricket has this record.

I also predicted the same in our previous post on who can win the ICC T20 World Cup 2023 Final.

The hard work and determination of the Australian team and the policies of Cricket Australia for promoting Women’s cricket make an awesome team of Australia.

Indian Board and I think every cricket board can take inspiration and implement things to improve women’s cricket. BCCI is promoting WPL and no doubt WPL will be a new milestone in Women’s cricket.

So, I hope you like this post, for keeping yourself updated on Women’s IPL and every sporting event, Subscribe to TheViralSportsIndia on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *